» About

About

Photo: Christophe Chaumanet

***AWARDS***

Best Newcomer – Dublin Burlesque Festival 2014

 Jury’s Prize – Wunder Awards 2014 – Paris, France

A huge bravo! Burlesque finds in [Kirby Marzelle] a strong signature, beautiful emotion and a modern and glamorous femininity. - Pierre C. Bousquet, NYLON-MODE.com

Renown for her theatrical wiles, killer choreography and quintessential American charm, Kirby Marzelle is one the most versatile and sought-after performers in Paris and abroad. Her work is highly unique and eclectic with shows ranging from “the golden age of striptease” to theatrical performance art to vintage sideshow and everything in between!

For 10+ years she has had the honor of working with some of the most well-known and respected artists in the business, including James Santos (Cirque du Soleil and Le Rêve, USA) Bart&Baker (FR) and performed in some of the most recognisable venues in the world, including La Machine du Moulin Rouge and Maxim’s de Paris.

In Nov. of 2016 Kirby mounted her first burlesque show as a organizer, The Tasseled Tiki Burlesque Show at Le Tiki Lounge, Paris.

In early 2017 Kirby and her twisted sister Martin Dust co-founded La Compagnie Canaille, a multi-platform theatre company proposing shows, events and performances without limit.

For the most up-to-date information please follow Kirby on Instagram.

Artist Statement

As an artist wishing to celebrate, provoke, examine and elevate the many facets of femininity I combine performance art, physical comedy, song, and dance to create a unique blend of provocative and imaginative characters rich in emotion and fantasy.

My goal is to utilize my 10+ years of theatrical and physical training and performance experience to create a body of work that is compelling, diverse, relevent and always topped with an element of surprise! I am particularly interested in playing with the emotionally and physically transformative aspect of burlesque, and the ways in which the element of “tease” affects the storyline, the character itself as well as the dynamic between the character and the audience.

Background

Since discovering the art of dance as a child it has been my belief that there is no greater outlet for expressing truth onstage than through physical movement. There is something so deeply fundamental and pure in the way we communicate with our bodies. Words can be false or misunderstood, but a physical gesture is ancient and universal. Our physicalities transcend time, place, culture and prejudice; they play an integral role in what unites us as creatures of the world.

After obtaining my Theatre Arts degree in 2009, I worked professionally as an actor and burlesque performer in Los Angeles and Chicago until love called me to Paris in 2012.

Inspiration

I am primarily inspired by the early years of burlesque, when satire, parody and comedy were the driving force behind the “feminine spectacle” movement in Europe and the US in the late 1800s. For the first time in theatre history women were not only featured as the central focus of the show, but their bodies, how they expressed themselves physically as well as verbally, became the active propellant onstage.  In a world where women are grossly underrepresented in almost every social and cultural category (including the arts!) I am proud to participate in an art form where women (or anyone, for that matter) are not only encouraged to express themselves creatively, but to do so such in a way that celebrates the very element which makes them uniquely female, their femininity.

Up

» À propos

À propos

 

Photo: Christophe Chaumanet

***RECOMPENSES***

Best Newcomer – Dublin Burlesque Festival 2014

Prix du Jury – Wunder Awards 2014 – Paris, France

“Un grand bravo… le burlesque trouve en (Kirby Marzelle) une belle signature, une belle émotion, une féminité moderne et glamour.”- Pierre C. Bousquet, NYLON-MODE.com

Connue pour ses artifices théâtrale, sa chorégraphie qui tue et son typique charme américain, Kirby Marzelle est une des plus polyvalentes et recherchée performeuse freelance à Paris et a l’étranger. Son travail est unique et éclectique avec des spectacles qui incluent “the golden age of striptease”, l’art de la performance théâtrale, vintage sideshow et bien plus!

Depuis 10+ ans elle a eu le plaisir et l’honneur de jouer et/ou travailler avec certains des plus connus et respectés artistes du milieu comme James Santos (dir. Cirque du Soleil et Le Rêve, USA) Bart&Baker (FR) ainsi que performeur dans certains des établissements les plus réputés du monde comme La Machine du Moulin Rouge et Maxim’s de Paris.

 En Nov 2016 Kirby a monté sa première spectacle burlesque en tant qu’organisatrice; The Tasseled Tiki Burlesque show – le petit spectacle burlesque qui t’en fout une grande! au Tiki Lounge, Paris.

En début 2017 Kirby et sa “soul sister” Martin Dust ont co-fondé La Compagnie Canaille. Protéiforme, elle propose des spectacles, des événements et des performances sans jamais connaitre de limites.

Pour connaitre toutes ses actualités merci de suivez Kirby sur Facebook!

Ma vision

En tant qu’artiste souhaitant célébrer,  provoquer, examiner et élever toutes les facettes de la féminité je mélange l’art de la performance, la comédie physique, le chant, et la danse pour créer une multitude de personnages provoquants, imaginatifs, émotionnels et fantastiques.

Mon but c’est d’utiliser mes 10 ans de formation théâtrale et physique ainsi que d’expérience de la performance pour créer un corps de travail qui est captivant, diversifié, pertinent et toujours avec un ‘élément de surprise! Je suis particulièrement intéressée de joue avec l’aspect de transformation émotionnelle et physique du burlesque, ainsi que par les façons dont l’effeuillage affecte le scénario, le personnage lui-même ainsi que la dynamique entre le caractère et le publique.

Mon passé

Depuis que j’ai découvert l’art de la danse quand j’étais enfant, j’ai découvert qu’il n’y a pas de meilleur manière d’exprimer la vérité sur scène que par les gestes. Il y a quelque chose de tellement fondamental et pure dans notre façon de communiquer avec nos corps. Les mots peuvent être faux ou mal compris, mais un geste physique est universel. Nos mouvements traversent le temps, l’espace, la culture et le préjudice; ils jouent un rôle intégral dans ce qui nous unis en tant que créature du monde.

Originaire du nord de la Californie, j’ai été diplômé de théâtre en 2009 et j’ai travaillé professionnellement en tant qu’actrice et performeuse burlesque à Los Angeles et Chicago, jusqu’à ce que l’amour m’ait appelée à Paris en 2012.

Mon inspiration

Je m’inspire des premières années du burlesque, quand le satire, la parodie et la comédie étaient les forces conductrices derrière le mouvement du “spectacle féminin” en Europe et aux USA fin 1800. Pour la première fois dans l’histoire du théâtre, les femmes n’étaient pas seulement avancées comment centre d’attention du spectacle, mais leurs corps, comment elle s’exprimaient tout aussi physiquement que verbalement, était devenu l’élément propulseur sur scène. Dans un monde ou les femmes sont grossièrement sous-représentées dans presque toutes les catégories sociales et culturelles (y compris l’art!) je suis fière de participer a un genre d’art où les femmes (ou tous) ne sont pas seulement encouragées à s’exprimer, mais surtout à le faire de manière à célébrer l’élément même qui font d’eux des êtres uniques, leur féminité.

Up